Coffee Date Friday!

Hola y’all! How’s it going? Things have been pretty chill in these parts. I’ve been spending most of my downtime doodling, enjoying the daydreaming process of sewing. I feel like I do that more than anything else. Always daydreaming, grading patterns in my head, picturing fabrics in my stash, wondering best ways to finish seams on this shirt or that dress. I have so many ideas that I often feel too paralyzed to start on any. So I decided to get them all down. I started doodling and all my hurried thoughts started to slow down. Now I know the next project I want to pounce on. I’ve been craving frosting like nothing else. But then…the practical side of me thinks I need some cake to fill in the gaps in my wardrobe. Oh, what is a girl to do?! Doodle some more.

doodle 3.jpg

1) I must, I must, I must conqueror Darling Ranges. I’m not one to quit on a pattern. I really enjoy grading and fitting so I am happily taking up the challenge of getting this dress to fit me. Megan has provided a tutorial on how to change the bust darts to waist darts. And even how to go about making a tunic version. Huzzah! 2) A Cambie dress in a vibrant Vlisco fabric would be DREAMY. 3) Sureau. I like to call this dress Darling Ranges’s easy (not in the slutty way. More like the easy-to-get-along-with way) French cousin.

doodle 4.jpg

4) My Clover pants have yet to let me down. I wear them long and hard. I end up with thigh holes in them (chub rub, anyone?). They took a while to fit but it’s my tried and true trouser pattern. We’re BFF…forever. I need a red twill pair. And a grey twill pair. And another denim pair. More, more, more. 5) ARCHER shirt. I’ve had this pattern ready to go for ages. I just need to cut up my lovely Robert Kaufman Dotted Chambray up and get to it. (Check out the denim Clovers I paired it with). 6) I’ve had the Tania culottes ready to go for ages, too. I have some cranberry rayon challis asking to be used. A pair needs to happen soon, especially with the warm days coming.

Doodling 1.jpg

7) Simplicity 5401 (vintage) is a sweet shirt dress that I fell in love with on Etsy. 8) Rachel helped me fit the Juniper pants and I want to re-visit them. They will have a slimmer leg. I just can pull off the baggy leg look. 9) Summers call for lovely maxi dresses/skirts. Simplicity 1801 fits the bill.

doodling 2.jpg

10) The Anna dress. Am I the only person in blogland who hasn’t made it yet? 11) A nice classic khaki skirt would add a lot of versatility to my summer wardrobe. Enter Beignet. 12) Followed by a grey twill Kelly.

doodle 5.jpg

Now here’s my tempting, tasty, buttercream frosting. 13) Simplicity 1803 in Michael Miller’s Park Landscape fabric. 14) Another popular blogland favorite, Simplicity 2444. I’d like this lady to be made using another Vlisco fabric I have in my stash. I’m leaning towards working on this one for my birthday. I’ll have two months to work on it here and there. And I’ll have a special occasion to wear it for. Even if that mean wearing it to the backyard to grill a burger or something.

Happy weekend!

31 thoughts on “Coffee Date Friday!

  1. I loved seeing your sewing day dreams! I never post plans, but I do make them in my head. I think the Tania culottes will be great on you, and your frosting dresses look so fun.

    Like

  2. Great plans! I really should do this too. Maybe my ideas would finally slow down to a manageable pace too! I haven’t made Ann yet either and I’m dying to. But I can’t see any possible way to breastfeed in it and can’t justify buying it until my BFing days are done.

    Like

    • I hear ya! The breastfeeding gig has kept me from wanting to even consider making it. Ollie is still nursing but mostly before going down to sleep so that would free me up to wear the dress out and about. Thank goodness. I am so over my BF wardrobe (or lack thereof).

      Like

  3. I know exactly how you feel being paralyzed with too many ideas – it actually keeps me up at night! Thanks for sharing your sketches. I love seeing what other people are planning to sew. I especially love that maxi dress, and #14 would look amazing on you!

    Like

    • Yes I have that too! Fortunately not the keeping up at night part 😉 I usually fall asleep planning future makes in my head. I love the sketches Melizza, there are some fabulous outfits-to-be there!

      Like

  4. Man you have so many great ideas! I’ve just gone back to university so I’m feeling in the same boat about daydreaming but not doing the real thing. I also haven’t made the Anna yet so you’re not the only one! We’re heading into autumn in nz so might have to put it on the back burner for now… Do you know which one you’re drawn to making first?

    Like

    • I *think* I am going to jump in and start on Simplicity 2444. I’m drawn to the floral fabric and the silhouette so much. I won’t get much wear out of it but I just don’t care. I want to twirl around in something pretty for my birthday 🙂 I also think I will do the Tania culottes since I’ve already graded the pattern to fit and it looks like an easy sew (I hope).

      Like

    • I *think* I am going to jump in and start on Simplicity 2444. I’m drawn to the floral fabric and the silhouette so much. I won’t get much wear out of it but I just don’t care. I want to twirl around in something pretty for my birthday 🙂 I also think I will do the Tania culottes since I’ve already graded the pattern to fit and it looks like an easy sew (I hope).

      Like

  5. OMG! I love your sewing plans. I love that it’s visual rather than writing the pattern down and having a swatch next to it. For me, it gives a clearer idea. I wish I can draw! ha! I have plans to make the polka dot chambray archer too. I just need to make a muslin for it first.

    Like

    • I swear, I can’t draw. I was mostly me copying the line drawings and getting lucky. Really. Give it a go! It’s so fun. I work better visually so the sketches have helped steer me in the right direction. And it’s fun to do them at night, in front of the TV.

      Like

  6. Love your list of sewing projects! I need doodling too many times my head is about to burst with so many projects in my mind. Much encouragement and get them!

    Like

    • Aw, thanks! You should totally learn to sew. It’s so calming, enjoyable, and satisfying. There are some headaches, don’t get me wrong. But because it’s a learning process, always, you don’t seem to mind.

      Like

    • Buying patterns can be addictive. I think it’s definitely worth waiting to buy them when you’re ready to work on them. I find some that I’ve purchased, I’ve outgrown 😦

      Like

  7. Thanks for sharing your sketches – I love seeing your ideas. I haven’t made the Anna Dress yet either – so you’re not the only one! (Though it sure feels like it!) It is on my list of patterns to get but I’ve got a bunch of things to get out of the way first.

    Like

  8. Thanks for sharing your plans.
    FYI – the Darling Ranges PDF has waist darts instead of bust darts if that is easier?
    I will be interested to see how you find the Tania Culottes, as a fellow “chub rubber” I am not sure whether they might ride up – let me know how you go.
    You aren’t the only person to have not made the Anna – I haven’t and won’t! I know it won’t suit my shape at all especially that skirt, I need something more camouflaging than that !!
    I look forward to seeing how you go 🙂

    Like

    • Yes! I did read about Darling Ranges 2.0. Since I already have the initial pattern with the bust darts I am just going to move the darts and save myself a few bucks 🙂 I will keep you posted on the culottes. I usually wear shorts under my skirts so I imagine this might be the same?

      Goodness, now I’m wondering about Anna. I’m sure I will have to re-work it somehow to keep it from highlighting the Budda belly 🙂

      Like

  9. Ooooh, fun planning post! I recognized those Vlisco fabrics. 😉 I’ve actually already wearable-muslined Anna, have another one almost finished, and a few others planned out in my head, with variations on the skirt part. I’m crazy about that pattern. I’ve been trying to figure out a blog post to break the long-silent ice, maybe Anna will be it…

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

