Coffee Date #…I can’t remember

Hello!

Thanks so much for all the advice on cutting down on internet time. Now all I have to do it work on it, because, you know what, I haven’t. As soon as I gave myself the pass to get back online on Tuesdays I forgot about decreasing my Internet time. D’oh! Well, at least I have some great tips to work with so at least there’s that. Thanks again for those who chimed in.

If we were having coffee I would tell you that… we (meaning me. Hubbie is really afraid of flying with a toddler…toddler…what?!!) are super excited about our trip to New York. Excited about seeing family and celebrating our son’s birthday, but you know what’s not exciting? All the impending snow. I mean, really? Can the country get a break? I’m asking local mommy friends if I can borrow a snowsuit because we don’t have one. It feels silly to buy one to wear for a handful of days. Fingers crossed we find one.

One of the things I miss the most of living in NYC is the access to inexpensive haircuts. I’m talking $25 for a wash, cut, and style. Yup. I am so looking forward to cutting my hairs off. I haven’t had a haircut since I was six months pregnant. I am long overdue for a change.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetI’ve been debating going for a super short ‘do. I’m finding it harder and harder to find the time to style my hair. Something short and sassy would be awesome. I *think* I can pull off a short ‘do. If not, that’s what headbands are for 🙂 I’m gonna go for it! Here’s a picture of what I’m considering (and feel free to tell me if you think I’m bananas).

*Sips coffee*

That’s about it. My life is pretty much full of the same ‘ole same ‘ole. I made a bit of headway with my son’s wearable muslin. I’m enjoying taking my time with the shirt-making process and really paying attention to the small details. I decided on the muslin to test out all the new-to-me techniques: plackets and edge-stitching. But now I wish I made the shirts in an assemble line. I might have to pull a mini sewing marathon Sunday and put his birthday shirt together.

IMG_8796 IMG_8795

 

And that’s it for now. I’m looking forward to sharing our trip home with y’all. Maybe I will be able to tell you all about the warm sun and rainbows we experienced. Yes? Yes. Here’s hoping!

26 thoughts on “Coffee Date #…I can’t remember

  1. Oh yes and I love the haircut! I want to cut off my locs so bad but I’ve only had short hair once almost 13 years ago. I may have forgotten some horrible reason why I haven’t had short hair since! Lol

    Like

  2. The shirt is looking super cute. Can’t wait to see lot.
    When are you going to be in NYC?
    I think you could totally rock the short do. I was thinking the same thing, about getting my hair trimmed when I visit back east.

    Like

  3. The shirt is looking great! Flying with a toddler isn’t nearly as bad as we make it out to be in our heads. Y’all will be fine and little guy will have a great adventure! If we were having coffee I’d totally agree with you on the a snow — so over it. Even my kids sent excited about snow anymore. Have a safe trip!!

    Like

    • It really does relieve me a bit to hear that it’s not as bad as people put on. Got the toys, snacks and entertainment. That’s all I can do. Finger crossed all with go swimmingly. Hope you had a great get-together with your friend.

      Like

  4. yes go for that short hair pic!!! totally selfish, i want to live vicariously through you.

    have a woooooonderful trip, and if you get a wild hair for some fabric you know us NY gals are ready…

    Like

  5. The shirt is great. I love the inside yoke fabric detail. And yes, the weather here is sucking. I hope that it gets better for you and me alike. I hope you are planning on some fabric shopping too!

    Like

    • I am hoping to do a wee bit of shopping. I haven’t been to the Garment District since learning how to sew. That must be remedied. Fingers crossed for warmer temps!

      Like

  6. I think the short cut will be awesome :o) and you know what? if not, it’ll grow in no time :o) good luck with the trip to NYC, v.jealous x

    Like

  7. Cut it, cut it!! Love the inspiration picture! My philosophy on hair is it always grows back so why not?
    Can’t wait to see the finished shirt. I love the hidden fancy fabric detail 🙂

    Like

  8. I’m totally late for coffee but enjoyed your update all the same! I really like your haircut idea. My sis – a life-long long-hair adherent – just cut her hair really short and loves it. I never would have thought NY was the home of cheap haircuts. The stitching on your son’s shirt looks amazing, btw.

    Like

  9. The short hair photo looks playful and sassy. Seems like you’re both! I’m no example- I’ve worn my hair the same length (with layers sometimes, mostly without) for the last 20 years. So I admire bold adventurous gals that have fun with heir hairdo! I want to hear about Ollie’s flight, how he did and what helped. How many hours? Nonstop? Lastly: where’d you get that cute vintage-looking print fabric? Adorable. Happy birthday to Ollie!!!

    Like

    • The (non-stop) flight there went well. We sat next to a lovely woman who interacted with Ollie, which made me feel a lot more calmer. It was a bit hard coming back because Ollie didn’t sleep well with us (we co-slept at my family’s place) so he was fussy. I kept trying to distract him with food, books, and toys. He finally went to sleep and I was less anxious. I was just waiting for him to go nuts but luckily other than a bit of fussing he was fine. Phew.

      Hope Gianna is having a lovely birthday!

      Like

I'd love to hear from you

