Sunday’s Friday Coffee Date

My Friday Coffee Dates might turn into just random coffee dates at this point. I don’t know where my head is. Actually, that’s a lie. It has been in the kitchen. Surprise, surprise.

With two occasions planned for the long weekend (Valentine’s Day and my mothers’ group celebration for all the babies turning one year old), I spent Friday and Saturday baking. I swear, I do other stuff. Really. But the social events all seem to be packed together lately. Not that I mind. I do like a good bake-off, even if it’s just me I’m competing against πŸ™‚

First up was a super decadent Rice Krispie and Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Brownies. I made them for our V-Day dessert and took all the leftovers to the birthday party. They are bananas. Bananas in a super fun devilishly bad way. One brownie was more than enough. These would go well at a winter holiday party. Warm weather would melt these bad boys fast so serving at a summer picnic would be no bueno.

Rice Krispie and Reese's Peanut Butter Cup Brownies

Also for the party I made a cinnamon salted caramel macaron.

Cinnamon Salted Caramel Macaron // Pincushion Treats

Since moving back to the States I had yet to make a successful batch of macs. These were my third try, using the Italian meringue method, and it proved promising. Half the batch came out looking and having a different texture than the other half. That just means I have to keep trying until I get them mostly right (I think there’s always a few rogues shells that refuse to come out well).

In sewing news, I am giving the Sketchbook shirt pattern a go. My birthdays have always felt really special to me. Because of that I really want to start a tradition of making something for Ollie to wear on his birthday (of course, until he tells me he no longer wants me to). I chose this happy fabric. Isn’t it the cutest?!

Birthday Shirt//Pincushion Treats

Working on it will get me prepared to finally tackle the Archer shirt. I cut and graded that pattern when it was first released. Making one is so overdue.

In other news, we basked in the sunshine. After four days of rain, we happily went on walks and couldn’t believe how bad things were in the east coast when it was so darn warm in California. Now I know why real estate comes at a premium here. You pay for the amazing weather.

Sunshine Day//Pincushion Treats

Sunshine Day//Pincushion Treats

In other other news, I’ve been thinking about one of my new year goals. In the beginning of the year I decided to decrease my online activity. I spend far too much time on my smartphone or on the computer. In order to decrease my addiction (yes, I definitely look at my phone far more than needed), I decided to abstain from the internet on Tuesdays. At first I felt so free. Sure, I thought about all the blogs I was missing, or all the emails that were going unread, but I didn’t mind. I was appreciating reading a book, knitting, or just playing a bit extra with my son. I thought I would slowly, hopefully, start not wanting to go online.

Not true.

This past Tuesday I felt particularly silly, not going online when all I wanted to do was read my blog subscriptions. I wondered, what am I getting out of this experience? I still want to indulge in social media and not going online feels like I’m on a horrible diet. So yeah, that’s what I’m feeling and I am considering giving up on my goal. I just don’t see the point in doing without because I’m not seeing a change in my need to be online. Ugh. So disappointing. I really want to not want to be so connected.

*Edit* My husband gently suggested that perhaps my approach on trying to decrease my online time was a bit off. That maybe I should try limiting myself to a few hours a day. Hmmm…I might have to give that some thought. I like the idea of turning off the phone and computer for the day at dinner time.

Anyone else out there going coo coo over all the time they waste spend online?

12 thoughts on “Sunday’s Friday Coffee Date

  1. You are my baking queen, that macaroon looks sublime…I wish I could reach out into the screen, grab it and eat it! The fabric for Ollie is super cute, really want to see what you make ;o) On your staying connected dilemma, I must say that I feel exactly the same! I spend the whole day at work on a computer, my (albeit very short) commute on the smartphone and my evenings on my lapton…catching on all the blogs and social media I missed out on whilst at work! It’s addictive and I feel guilty for frittering my life away online, instead of maybe just living in, but then I feel so detached when I’m not ‘in the know’. Maybe your hubby has a point in terms of limiting the time online…I may have to give that a go!

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness, those all look divine! There’s a bakery where we sometimes get macarons (I’ve never been brave enough to make them) and the salted caramel ones are my absolute favorites!!

    If you want to unplug a little, I think hubby’s suggestion is the way to go. I’m always unsuccessful if I try to go cold turkey but setting limits works for me. A while back I deleted Facebook from my phone so I was limited to checking it at home on my iPad, which necessarily limited it to nights after the kids went to bed. I spent much less time on there! Unplugging is tough in our plugged-in world. Good luck!!

    Like

  3. Coming out of lurk say that your baking looks divine and totally delish (in my Rachael Ray voice). πŸ˜€

    As for online dieting, I’m trying to limit my online time now too. What works for me is giving myself allotted hours for the week. No restrictions on how I want to use them. So I could use the time in one go or spread out over the week. When I started, I felt disconnected to, but being offline gives me so much more time to knit, crochet, read, reacquaint myself with my sewing machine. That’s the plus side for me so it’s getting easier to unplug.

    Another thing I do when I really want to shock myself to get offline is calculate how many hours I spend online per year. It starts out as funny but ends up being eye-opening. I say to myself — 3 hours a day means 21 hours per week, means 84 hours per month, means 1008 hours per year. And if I average more hours per day … that’s more time spent online. How many books could I have read, how many items could I have knit, crochet or sew? How many times could I have exercised, how many meals could I have cooked? How many other things could I have done with those hours? It’s scary and sometimes (and I say sometimes) sets me straight. LOLOL! πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. Sun? What is that? It’s been so long since it came out to play over here that I forget what it feels to have the sun on your face. Man, you are a baker extraordinaire, and that is so great that you will be making Ollie a birthday outfit each year. As for the internet, I’m with your husband. The internet is not bad per se, it’s when all we do is surf that it becomes a problem. When I was on sabbatical I noticed that I could waste an entire morning online and that worried me so I decided to do it in short, time limited, bursts: 1/2 hour after breakfast, 1/2 hour after lunch and an hour before dinner to catch up on e-mail correspondence and whatever blogs I did not get to read in the morning. Sometimes I did not get to everything I wanted to read, but it made me prioritize without feeling like I was missing out, if that even makes sense.

    Like

  5. If you keep baking things like that, there can be a coffe date every day as far as I’m concerned πŸ˜‰ plugging out for some time daily sounds like the way to go. You can always give it a try, and if it isn’t for you, it isn’t for you. You probably have enough other goals to reach πŸ˜‰

    Like

  6. I just had macarons for the first time the other day. Consider me a convert! Not sure I’d have the patience to make them though!!
    The online quandary has me bothered lately as well. Especially when trying to be present for my baby. What I’ve tried doing is going about my business then letting myself have a mini-break to surf, where I’ll allow myself to read 3-5 blog posts. Then I move on. Editing the number of blogs I read is on my to-do list this week, too, which will certainly help.

    Like

  7. Hey Mela! We are thinking about going the Baby Led Weaning approach with my Baby J — his 6-month mark is less than 2 weeks away! I’d really appreciate hearing your thoughts about BLW after taking that approach with Ollie. It looks like you were very successful!

    Like

  8. Oh, what a good idea – to take a day off the Internet a week. I seem to remember that I did that for a while on Sundays which worked because of all the family and friend commitments. I hope you’ve found some balance in the meantime Mela!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

