Hitting the ground running

Motherhood can be pretty isolating. Making it my mission to get out and meet people has been great for us. We are finally getting into a nice routine: going on walks, taking a music class, and meeting with a play group. But now it’s time to do something for myself. I really want to get back to having solid healthy habits and be a good example for the little guy.

When I found out I was pregnant I was three months into training for a half marathon. My legs had started feeling like I was carrying cement blocks. Unfortunately I wasn’t one of the lucky women who can run while pregnant. My body and mind weren’t into it.

Fast forward to now and I’ve been craving to hit the pavement again. I watch people running and wished I was moving my body more. I think that stems from my old days as a gym rat and runner.

Melizza with Her Medal (crop)

And when I say run, I mean run/walk. I practiced the Gallaway method and never thought to change it. But now that I want to get back into running I’d love to complete a race and run the whole thing. It’s a small (hmm…not really) goal in the bucket list that needs doing. So when I saw a baby jogger for sale in the local classifieds I knew it would be perfect to take the little dude out and not worry about having to run while my husband was still home (a 6AM run,no thanks).

I would have loved to have sewn up some new running gear but come on…it wasn’t going to happen. I caught a sale and bought a few pieces that will help get me started. Once Ollie is sturdy enough to sit in the jogger, away we go. He’s really close, too. He’s been sitting but still wobbles a bit. I bet he’ll be sitting well in a couple of weeks.

Now all I need is to find a 5K to train for in the fall. And this cuteness here*.

*Gotta wonder…Can I make this?

41 thoughts on “Hitting the ground running

  1. Yay! Happy running! Even though I’m not one of those people that gets high off of exercise, it still puts me in such a good headspace. It will be so nice for the two of you to get some fresh air and exercise together (well, let’s face it– one of you will be getting a lot more exercise than the other, haha!)!

    Like

    • Thanks! I hate running, but MY GOD do I love finishing πŸ™‚ It’s the most satisfying feel I get.

      But I do intend to enjoy just being outside with the guy. It’s nice to get out and about.

      Like

  2. Good for you, it’s really important to do things just for you and it’ll be a great way to stay fit as well as enjoy yourself and be sociable.

    Definitely make that onesie! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I *just* started a couch to 5k this past Thursday. So I feel ya. Jane is too floppy to take in the jogger so hubby has offered to take over while I run. My group meets at the local park and he comes along and pushes her around. My legs are beat but I feel better already πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yay for running! Having a running group is so encouraging. I made great friends and ran triple the amount than had I went at it alone. I do plan on joining a group, once my conditioning and speed are comparable to the local group’s.

      It’s amazing how quickly your posture straightens and there’s an added bounce to your step, even after just a few runs!

      Like

  4. Hells yes! This sounds absolutely awesome- and what a fab treat for Ollie to see the sights as you run! I am looking forward to starting to jog again soon once I get the all clear from my surgeon that everything has healed right. I truly believe running is good for the soul- all that fresh air has to do a girl some good! Run well!

    Like

    • I hope your surgeon gives you the clear soon. Good thing you’ve been able to still sew. Phew. I imagine you would have gone mental had you not been able to do both!

      Like

  5. Fantastic mindset. That alone will see you do well. My husband has just talked me in to running before work (6am). I thought it was ridiculous, but it’s actually great. However, I do get a solid 7 hours kip each night, which would be a massive difference I’m sure. But I find it great, because after that it is done and I don’t have to argue with myself about whether to run or not for the rest of the day! πŸ˜‰
    As for the onesie – could you iron letters on to a plain, purchased one? We don’t have to make everything from scratch just because we can. I found realising that to be so liberating! Enjoy your me AND your finding new friends time πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hey Rachel! I totally have iron-on letters that I can use. I’ve had them for ages and forgot about them. Gonna slap them on one of his plain onesies and call it a day πŸ™‚

      I used to LOVE working up early in the morning, years and years ago. But now that he wakes me a few times in the night I like to have a wee bit of a lie in if he lets me. But I am going to make sure that my http://wordpress.com/#run is the first thing that I do. If not, like you said, I’ll argue with myself on whether or not to do it the rest of the day.

      Like

  6. Mountain buggies as they are more commonly known here are awesome. Not that I’ve ever been a runner but I walked heaps when my kids were that age. My kids loved it! I’m sure Ollie will too. That onesie is sooo cute!

    Like

  7. What an uplifting post Mela, I’m so pleased for you! I love the idea of running with your little man in tow, then you are free to do so whenever you like without relying on the hubby…genius! If I ever take the plunge into motherhood, I will so be doing that. I’ve recently starter running again after a hiatus in exercise and I really hope I can maintain it this time…I’m going down the ‘couch to 5k’ route and keeping my fingers crossed ;o)

    Like

    • I used that program in the past and I’m planning on using it again. It really helped having a schedule to keep you going.

      Glad to hear you’re running as well. Seems like a lot of us are getting into or returning to running. I think there should be a Running Sewists Support Group πŸ™‚ Now that’s a thought…

      Like

  8. You can and should make that! I’m really happy that you’re starting to find a groove, and starting to feel like you can do some things for yourself. And I’m a teeny bit jealous that you’re going to start running. I used to love to run, but can’t do it any more due to bursitis 😦 So run a mile for me!

    Like

    • I definitely shall run one for you!

      And being the craft hoarder that I am I do believe I have all the stuff needed to make that onesie. And it will be a quick make, thank goodness πŸ™‚

      Like

    • It feels so awesome to read that a bunch of us are hitting the pavement after an absence. Almost like we’re all in it together. I’m already looking forward to the mental and physical rewards.

      Like

  9. You go girl! Finding a goal race is a great idea! That’s what I did after #2 — I set my sights on a local half marathon about 5 months after N was born. It was tough but I made it to the finish and it helped jump start my fitness routine. Can’t wait to get back into it again!

    Like

  10. Oooh, good luck! I know it can be hard to set up an exercise regime at the best of times but especially hard to set routines with a little one. I’m sure Ollie will love his runs.

    I’m gla you’re getting out and about and meeting people. It’s always good to spend time with friends.

    Like

  11. Lady, you are awesome. I felt the same isolation when Button came home, but now, I’ve made so many new friends through the kids. I am always amazed how much they’ve enriched our lives…not only with their little marvellous selves, but with the wider circle of friends and activities that we now have as a result of having them with us. It’s wonderful.
    Bravo you for the running. It’s not easy to carve time out for yourself when your taking care of everyone else, but it sooooo important. And I’m in awe of race runners!

    Like

  12. I wish I had your motivation to run and exercise … hmm, I’m lazy … that would be a good way to instill healthy habits to your baby. Kisses, dear Melizza.

    Like

  13. A jogging stroller was almost as important as a washing machine for my mental health when the guys were little. Have fun and I’m sure you will cross the finish line smiling.

    Like

  14. Yay for running! Reading all these comments it seems like running is also a common ‘hobby’ of the sewists πŸ™‚ I started running a few weeks ago and I love it so far. Pretty sure that it is due to the nice weather, let’s see how much I still like it when there is rain haha!

    It’s so nice to see that you are doing so well with little Ollie and that you’re getting some space to do something for yourself again. I’m pretty sure he will like a bit of sightseeing while you’re running!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

