Happy Mother’s Day

It’s Mother’s Day here in the States. Because it’s my first I wanted to mark it with something special. I whipped up my first garment of the year (crazy, right?) and made Ollie a matching bow tie.

20130512-113929.jpg

The fabric came from a lovely shop in Edinburgh during a meetup there. I was stuck with not knowing what to use it for. But recently it hit me: circle skirt. And it proved to be the best project to flex my sewing foot. Now I won’t be too nervous about approaching my other projects.

Happy Mother’s Day!

20130512-113820.jpg

31 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Oh my gosh Mela, Ollie looks adorable in his bow tie! And a very first (of many) Happy Mother’s Day to you, you’re looking incredible in your new circle skirt!

    Like

  2. Lovely colours on that skirt, but most importantly, how awesome that you made Ollie (who is growing fast!) a matching tie. Happy Mother’s Day to you!

    Like

  3. I reeeeally want some of that fabric for my own rainbow plaid circle skirt now. Perfect use for it — both uses!! And it’s so good to have you back! 😀

    Like

  4. Happy first Mother’s Day! That skirt is divine! I love the way it falls and the length is so flattering. And of course, your little Ollie is so dapper.

    Like

  5. A baby bow tie? 😀
    I remember you buying that fabric and thinking you were going to make a man’s shirt from it…?
    Much better to use it for yourself! It is a shot of sunshine – lovely! 😀

    Like

    • Thank you! I had planned to make a shirt dress but decided it may have been a bit much so settled on a skirt. But I did buy some other check fabric to make a man’s shirt during that trip.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you

