January Pattern Plan

It’s another dreary rainy day in London. The perfect weather to sit back with a cuppa and plan my makes for January. I also had a go at matching patterns to fabric on my spreadsheet, which will save me a lot of headache later. There are still some holes that need filling (for example, I have the shell fabric for a dress but not the lining) but I am not overly concerned since I have a lot of projects ready to sew.

For January I’d love to start with the Colette Jasmine top. I mean, what better way than to start on the right foot with a lovely Colette pattern, am I right? I have some lovely mustard shirting fabric that will work well with it. It’s going to look quite nice paired with my tweed circle skirt.

Although this winter has been quite mild I still want to make some warmer garments. I am working on tracing the Hot Patterns Plain & Simple Slouchy Fly-Front Skirt and making it in the most lush fabric I was fortunate to find on sale, some cashmere wool.

The third garment I hope to make in January is the Darling Ranges Dress. If luck is on my side I will be making a wearable muslin and final version using these two fabrics.

Wearable muslin

Final version

I”m really looking forward to the Darling dress just because I think it’ll be really fun to embellish and accesorize with. I picture wearing it with an undershirt, a dainty scarf and crocheted tights.

So that’s my plan for January. Totally doable, I think. The only garment I am a bit apprehensive about is the Hot Pattern skirt. It requires a vent, a zipper flap…oh boy. Luckily there are some youtube videos on making it.

Hope everyone has a great New Year’s Eve tomorrow and a wonderful new year.

14 thoughts on “January Pattern Plan

  1. I love the color of that cashmere wool!
    I plan on starting a collection of my fabric in Evernote w/ the key details so that I don’t have to go to my closet to look at it. I’ve already done the same thing with my patterns.

    Like

  2. Brilliant idea with the spreadsheet and I LOVE the choices you made for your upcoming January projects! I think everything will turn out beautifully. I can’t wait to see pics when you’re finished with them!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

