Christmas came early: Shopping finds in Germany

The hubs and I went to check out the Munich and Nuremberg Christmas markets for a few days. Germany was quite a winter wonderland: snow, mulled wine, and frigid temperatures everywhere we went.

Nuremberg, Munich Germany

Munich Christmas Germany

Neues Rathaus

Beautiful crafted ornaments

My first of a few mulled wines

But I managed to get squeeze in a little fabric and yarn shopping during our little Christmas break. Having the very considerate husband that I do he never blinked once when I asked to wander about quite a few fabric and yarn shops. Two shops were on our agenda but we randomly walked into more than a handful, “A Christmas bounty,” as the hubs describes it. I know one of my goals in the new year is to bust through my fabric stash and not to add any more, but I couldn’t help walking away with a few souvenirs, of the fabric/yarn/notion kind. And besides, I can start on that goal in 2012!

Wolle Rödel was happily found on accident. I’m not too familiar with yarn but the ones I saw here were quite unusual compared to the ones I’ve seen, like some yarns had sequins woven into them. So pretty!

A very lovely yarn shop in Munich

One of the department stores on my list, Oberpollinger, had a haberdashery department that puts John Lewis to shame. The craft section was HUGE and it had quite a great selection of, well, lots of things. Lots of wools, cottons, jerseys and notions. Pretty basic yarns and various knitting accessories.

Oberpollinger Department Store, Munich

Oberpollinger Department Store

Oberpollinger Dept. Store, Munich

There were a few walls of yarn like this, along with tables full of it

Munich was full of so many crafty gems. This Bernina/Pfaff store was tucked away in a side street. I loved their door handle so much I took a photo of it.

Quite an awesome door handle

You can’t beat a trip full of beer, brats and shopping! Germany, you’re on my A list. These are my Munich and Nuremberg souvenirs.

2 meters of cotton twill, 3 metal zips

I wasn’t loving garments with showy metal zips but I think I am going to embrace the look.

I got 6 of the green, 4 of red and 3 of the rainbow

And I bought a bunch of yarn on a whim and decided scarves for everyone for Christmas! Well, not everyone. I didn’t get *that* much 🙂

6 thoughts on “Christmas came early: Shopping finds in Germany

I'd love to hear from you

