The Knitting and Stitching Show at Ally Pally

The Knitting and Stitching Show at Alexandra Palace

To say my weekend was eventful is an understatement. I got to visit with some lovely sewists in Birmingham on Saturday and go to a craft fair on Sunday. I was lucky to have the chance to work at the Ray Stitch stall at the Knitting and Stitching Show in Alexandra Palace. I really wanted to go to the show but felt £10 was a bit steep to pay for a fair. But my expectations were beyond met. The venue was fabulous. Alexandra Palace is located in north London in Muswell Hill. When I studied abroad in London ten years ago I lived in the neighborhood and never paid Ally Pally a visit. For shame! But at least I’ve made up for it. Just look at how beautiful she is.

Beautiful Alexandra Palace aka Ally Pally

The rose window

Once inside you come upon meters and meters of bunting hanging from the ceiling: gorgeous. Definitely have to add bunting to my to-do list.

Pretty bunting

I couldn’t believe how busy the show was. There were people everywhere and with reason. There were hundreds and hundreds of stalls everywhere. There were stalls selling all types of sewing machines, knitting accessories, haberdashery, fabrics, embroidery materials, magazine subscriptions, and so much more!

Sooo many people!

Here’s Ray chatting with a customer. Her fabric bundles were a huge hit.

Ray Stitch Stall

Two stalls by Ray’s were run by Fabrics Galore. They have a great shop in south London, in the Battersea/Clapham area to be exact. One stall was dedicated to mostly Liberty fabrics. It was very popular.

Fabrics Galore Stall, 1 of 2

Liberty Fabrics

I waited until the crowds died down in the evening before browsing through all their bolts of fabrics. I did come away with some beautiful teal corduroy.

Teal Corduroy

All the pretty yarns everywhere made me decide that I want to give knitting a second try. I tried to learn in my early 20s and found I lacked the patience. I like to think I have gained quite a bit in the last couple of years and am ready to take on the challenge. I picked up a knitting goodie bag that had some knitting patterns and needles in them. Now all I need is some pretty wool.

After seeing all the yarn I want to take up knitting

Aside from all the vendors were some artists displaying their works. A nice touch and change of pace from the rest of the show. I really enjoyed seeing all the various works.

Scary knitted kitteh!

Portraits print screened onto fabric

Award-winning costume making

The Knitting and Stitching Show was amazing. I had a fabulous time and would definitely go again, even if it means forking over £10 or so for a ticket (am I the only person who thinks paying an entrance fee for a craft show ridunkculous?). As for Ally Pally, I’m in love with you. Cannot wait to go back to picnic and go ice skating there.

11 thoughts on “The Knitting and Stitching Show at Ally Pally

  1. I went to this last year (or something similar) and was as blown away as you were. I came away with some lovely fat quarters that I’ve used since for peter pan collars and little purses…so cute! Looks like it was another awesome event…can’t believe how much cool stuff you crammed into one weekend ;o)

    Like

  2. Alexandra Palace is so beautiful! I went there at night once for a concert but didn’t quite get to appreciate its beauty. The show looks lovely, I must keep an eye out for jewelry-making or paper craft shows.

    Like

  3. But you missed out a photo of the view of the London skyline which always takes my breath away. My second year of attendance at Ally Pally – luckily I live just down the road. Luckily also because of the mountain of fabrics I just had to have. Hope you got a chance to see Rosenberg and Sons’ fabric stall.

    Like

    • I took photos of the views but my little old camera didn’t do them justice so I left them out. But you are so right! The view is spectacular. And yes, I did get to see the Rosenberg and Sons’ fabric stall. It was busy when I passed by but I manage to see a bit.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you

