Colette Sorbetto top completed!

I completed quite a few sewing firsts while making the Sorbetto:

  1. I made my own bias tape. I thought I had enough store-bought bias tape but I was wrong. So I ordered a bias tape maker and it arrived this afternoon. Luckily,  I had already started cutting out my strips and was ready to finish up the top within an hour. I followed Colette Patterns tutorial. Next time I might try making continuous bias tape. Might save a bit of time.
  2. I sewed darts. Not as painful as I imagined. Maybe it was luck 🙂
  3. I attached bias tape. I didn’t have a clue as to how to do it. I looked up a few sources and ended up going with Colette Patterns tutorial because they are so clear and have great instructional photos.

I’m really glad I tried out some new sewing techniques while using such a great pattern. The instructions were easy to follow and great for any beginner. I definitely recommend it. And it’s free. What’s better than free? Without further ado…my Sorbetto.

bias tape, sheer fabric

I will definitely wear a tank/vest top under this. Looks so delicate. I love it.

Neckline, bias tape details

Sleeve, bias tape details

Sorbetto, full length view

Looking forward to taking some photos of me in it…It’s so darn cute. I will definitely make a couple of more.

4 thoughts on “Colette Sorbetto top completed!

  1. Awww Melizza, am so proud of you. its lovely. Did you get the fabric for the bias that day we went shopping? i like the contrast. I’m looking forward to seeing more from you…lol.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you

