When it comes to Ginger, I’m a bit bias

Do you ever wonder what Past You was thinking when they bought a certain pattern/fabric/notion/gallon of ice cream? I do. Initially, I wasn’t too keen on the fabric I used for this project. I bought it about a year ago and when I got it out of the closet I instantly thought, “Red, white and blue? Really, Mela? Really?” But since making the skirt I have embraced the fabric and now I am calling it my “Go USA! Olympic Skirt”. Positive thinking, yay!

Because I love Colette’s Ginger skirt I decided one more couldn’t hurt. I’ve made it three times before (here, here, and here) but the fourth might be my favorite*.

Bias Cut Colette Ginger SkirtThis was my second attempt (the first being with the Negroni where the stripes almost matched perfectly by happy accident) at matching stripes.

Bias Cut Colette Ginger SkirtI almost earned an A+ until I stuttered a bit at the zipper. I re-did it three times but I couldn’t get the stripes along the zipper to match up.

Bias Cut Colette Ginger SkirtBut I’ll take it! Success!

I used ticking fabric and it played well. It cut easily, ironed well and has a nice denim weight. I added some bias tape to break up the waistband and skirt and I completely adore how it came out.

I can tell you now that this is not the end of Ginger. I can’t retire her. She makes me look good.

Colette Ginger Bias Skirt

*The Ginger skirt is my pattern of choice for Tilly’s One Pattern, One Week. I cannot wait to style those girls!

49 thoughts on “When it comes to Ginger, I’m a bit bias

  1. I think it looks amazing and the stripe matching is perfect – I wouldn’t have noticed the stutter at the zip if you hadn’t told me about it… The fabric is so summery too – love it! Go You!

  2. Woo, go Melizza! Excellent job with the stripe matching. I don’t think it looks TOO ‘red white and blue’, but just subtly supportive of the the USA – or the UK if you’re feeling so inclined! :)

  3. I LOVE this one! I think you did a fab job matching the stripes – I wouldn’t have even noticed the zip bit if you hadn’t pointed it out. And ticking fabric, what a great idea! You’re right, the Ginger is a perfect skirt pattern and you can’t help but look good in it. In fact, I’m wearing one as I type this, and like you, it’s my pattern of choice for OWOP! Can’t wait to see how you style all your very different versions. x

    • I saw you picked it and I immediately thought, “What a great choice.” So yeah, I’m being a bit of a copy cat I’m afraid. But I love the pattern for all the same reasons you do. It compliments the figure so darn well.

  4. Your matching skills are great! Well done – I love this variation! I’ve had matching/zipper difficulties recently – ugh! Doesn’t matter what you do beforehand in terms of matching perfectly – the zipper throws it out. I was trying to match a trim and I had to unpick the trim and ease it out of the zipper then poke it back in again a half a centimetre up. Argh! I think you’ve done a terrific job though :)

  5. The skirt is amazing! From a distance, the blue is hardly noticeable and the skirt looks like a red and white stripe.
    I had a good giggle at your last photo. Frankly, I wouldn’t have noticed if you hadn’t mentioned the bra :) I have a bra that does exactly the same thing too!

  6. oh my word, this is GREAT! Spot on matching of the stripes (I can’t believe anyone would ever notice the zip if you didn’t point it out first). The colours on the NZ flag are Red/White/Blue too….maybe I should have it? ;-)

  7. It really is a good pattern for you. This is my best of all of the versions you’ve made so far. The fabric is so bright. Will you wear it on Monday so I can admire it first hand? lol

  8. O my word I am in awe of your stripe matching skills! It looks AMAZING! I think the boldness & colour is perfect for the start of spring, & summer! You look really great in these gingers I’m glad you have just a smidgeon of pride! (And can point out your bra to everyone who would not have noticed otherwsie!!)

  9. Hi! I just found your blog – I love this version of Ginger – I just got the pattern and hope to make one v soon! This fabric is a great variation on the usual blue / white stripe plus red solid nautical spring look – and those matched chevrons – perfect!

  10. Each Ginger you make is even more beautiful than the last one Mela…very impressive stuff! Can’t wait to see how you style them all up for OWOP!!!

I'd love to hear from you

